Skip to main content

Comment on tasks

Written by Christy Umberger

Limble allows comments to be added to tasks by both the system and individual users.

Comments let you communicate with others about a task. When a user adds a comment to a task, everyone else assigned to the task receives a notification.

System-generated comments is a record of updates to a task which are automatically recorded by the system.


Comment on a task

  1. Open a task and navigate down to the Comments section.

  2. Click Add comment.

  3. In the new window, enter your text and optionally attach an image or file.

  4. Click Add comment.

Turn off system-generated comments

You can turn off the system-generated record of automatic task updates on an individual task.

  1. Open a task.

  2. In the Comments section, click to turn off the Include system-generated comments toggle.

    The section will now only show comments manually left by other users.

Manage comment settings

You can choose who gets notified about comments and whether external users, like vendors and work requesters, can see them.

These settings are account-wide.

Set default comment visibility for external users

By default, comments are visible to external users in shared task views, work requests, and printed tasks. You can hide them by default instead.

  1. Go to Configuration center > Work and task management > General task settings.

  2. Scroll to the Comments section.

  3. Toggle on Hide comments from external users.

This sets the default only. Users can still change the visibility of individual comments.

Turn off commenter notifications

By default, anyone who comments on a task, purchase order, or bill, or is mentioned in a comment, is added to its notification chain.

  1. Go to Configuration center > Work and task management > General task settings.

  2. Scroll to the Comments section.

  3. Toggle off Add commenters and mentioned users to notification chain.

We recommend leaving this setting on so everyone involved stays up to date on the latest activity.

Change a comment’s visibility

You can hide or show individual comments for vendors and work requesters, no matter what the default setting is.

  1. Open the task.

  2. In the Comments section, click the three-dot icon next to the comment.

  3. Select Hide from vendors and requesters.

  4. To un-hide a comment, click the three-dot icon and select Show to vendors and requesters.

Did this answer your question?